Home Last updated: 16 October 2026
UK Edition
JW
Written and fact-checked by Jacob Whitmore · Published 16 Oct 2026 · How we work

Desk research, not testing. Look Into has not used any of these devices. We read the Amazon UK listings and prices on 16 October 2026 and divided each price by a stated number of uses. Star ratings are Amazon's.

Affiliate disclosure: links to Amazon are affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate, Look Into earns from qualifying purchases. This does not change our picks or our numbers.

Prices and specs last checked by Look Into on 16 October 2026 · next check 20 November 2026 · how we picked

The short version

  • Best value gift: Remington S8500 straighteners, £25.00, 16.0p a use at three uses a week, with 10,000+ bought in the past month.
  • Cheapest per use: Fronnor ice roller, £8.99, 5.8p a use. A good stocking filler, not a main present.
  • Best gift for under £50 that feels like a treat: Revolution Pro Miracle LED mask, £44.99, 28.8p a session.
  • Hair tools spread from 20.4p to £3.07 a use. The £479 Dyson Airwrap i.d. costs 15 times as much per use as the £31.89 Revlon One-Step.
  • Think twice about IPL as a surprise gift. At £14.17 to £28.29 a session in year one, it only pays off if the person wanted it and keeps using it for years.

Ranked by cost per use, year one

Prices read on Amazon UK on 16 October 2026. Uses per year: daily cleansing 365, toothbrush 730, everything else 156 (three a week), IPL 12 (monthly).

RankGiftPriceUses, year oneCost per useElectricity per useRatings
1Fronnor ice roller£8.991565.8pnone3,327
2Oral-B iO2 toothbrush (with 3 heads)£39.99 + £13.317307.3pnegligible4,950
3FOREO LUNA mini 2£31.693658.7pnegligible8,111
4Remington S8500 straighteners£25.0015616.0pnot stated35,937
5Revlon One-Step Style Booster£31.8915620.4p5.4p4,267
6Revolution Pro Miracle LED mask£44.9915628.8pnegligible141
7INIA Red Light LED mask£89.9915657.7pnegligible1,241
8NuFACE MINI Classic£184.00156£1.18negligible27
9Shark SpeedStyle Pro Flex HD543PL£199.99156£1.2811.2p169
10Dyson Airwrap i.d.£479.00156£3.078.6p298
11Ulike Air 2 Max IPL£169.9912£14.17n/a198
12Philips Lumea 9900 IPL£339.5012£28.29n/a136

The working: cost per use = price ÷ uses. Electricity = the listing's stated wattage × 15 minutes × 26.32p. Example: Revlon 820W × 0.25h = 0.205 kWh × 26.32p = 5.4p. Shark 1,700W gives 11.2p, and Dyson 1,300W gives 8.6p. The Oral-B figure adds three replacement heads at £4.44 each.

These bases match Look Into's UK At-Home Beauty Device Cost Index, which prices LED masks at three sessions a week and IPL at twelve a year. Prices have moved since its 11 October check: the Ulike Air 2 Max has fallen from £199.99 to £169.99.

The picks

1. Remington Shine Therapy S8500: best value beauty gift

Best for: anyone who straightens regularly.

Price: £25.00 on Amazon UK, 16 October 2026 (35,937 ratings, 10,000+ bought, number 60 in all of Beauty).

Check price on Amazon →

16.0p a use in year one, and 5.3p over three years. Nine settings from 150°C to 230°C.

The catch: the listing states two warranties, 5 years plus 1 for registering in the bullets and 3 years in the spec table. It also gives no wattage.

2. Revlon One-Step Style Booster: best hot brush

Best for: someone who blow-dries with a round brush and wants to save time.

Price: £31.89 on Amazon UK, 16 October 2026 (4,267 ratings, number 1 in Hot Air Stylers).

Check price on Amazon →

An 820W dryer and round brush in one. 20.4p a use, plus 5.4p of electricity for a 15-minute session.

The catch: the spec table lists 120 volts, a US mains figure. Check that the plug and voltage are UK before buying. One-brush tools do not suit very short hair.

3. Revolution Pro Miracle LED mask: best treat under £50

Best for: someone curious about LED masks who would not pay £300.

Price: £44.99 on Amazon UK, 16 October 2026 (141 ratings, 2,000+ bought in the past month).

Check price on Amazon →

Red and blue light, 90 bulbs, wireless and USB-C charged. 28.8p a session at three a week.

The catch: the listing states no wavelength and no power output, the two numbers that describe the light. Our LED mask guide explains why that matters. Only 141 ratings.

4. INIA Red Light LED mask: best mask that states its wavelength

Best for: a buyer who wants the spec in writing.

Price: £89.99 on Amazon UK, 16 October 2026 (1,241 ratings).

Check price on Amazon →

States 850nm near-infrared on the title, with 10, 20 and 30-minute sessions and 220 LEDs. 57.7p a session.

The catch: twice the price of the Revolution mask for a similar idea. LED mask evidence is mixed, so gift it to someone who has asked for one.

5. FOREO LUNA mini 2: best daily skincare gadget

Best for: a daily face-washer.

Price: £31.69 on Amazon UK, 16 October 2026 (8,111 ratings).

Check price on Amazon →

A silicone cleansing brush with a rechargeable battery. At once a day it costs 8.7p a use, and silicone means no brush heads to buy.

The catch: only 50+ bought in the past month on 16 October, so it is a steady seller, not a trend. Some people find any cleansing brush too much for sensitive skin.

6. Fronnor ice roller: best stocking filler

Best for: puffy mornings.

Price: £8.99 on Amazon UK, 16 October 2026 (3,327 ratings).

Check price on Amazon →

A roller you keep in the freezer. 5.8p a use, the cheapest on this page.

The catch: it is a cold roller and nothing more. It suits a stocking, not the main present.

7. Shark SpeedStyle Pro Flex HD543PL: a big-brand styler under £200

Best for: someone who wants a premium dryer without Dyson money.

Price: £199.99 on Amazon UK, 16 October 2026 (169 ratings, 1,000+ bought in the past month).

Check price on Amazon →

A 1,700W dryer with styling attachments. £1.28 a use plus 11.2p of electricity.

The catch: £1.28 a use is six times the Revlon. Only 169 ratings on this listing. Note it is listed as a hair dryer, not Shark's FlexStyle multi-styler.

Worth it only if they asked for it

  • Dyson Airwrap i.d., £479.00 (298 ratings). £3.07 a use plus 8.6p of electricity, which is 15 times the Revlon One-Step per use. Buy it only for someone who has asked for exactly this.
  • IPL devices. The Ulike Air 2 Max costs £169.99 (£14.17 a session) and the Philips Lumea 9900 £339.50 (£28.29). IPL works best on dark hair against paler skin and not at all on blonde, red, grey or white hair. It is a gift for someone who has already decided. See our IPL guide.

Not worth gifting

  • NuFACE MINI Classic, £184.00. Rated 3.2 stars from 27 ratings on 16 October 2026, the lowest rating on this page by a distance, at £1.18 a use.

FAQ

What is the best value beauty gift on Amazon UK?
The Remington S8500 straighteners at £25.00 (16 October 2026), costing 16.0p a use at three uses a week, with 10,000+ bought in the past month.

Is an LED face mask a good Christmas present?
Only for someone who wants one. The Revolution Pro Miracle costs £44.99, or 28.8p a session, but its listing does not state a wavelength or power output.

Is the Dyson Airwrap worth it as a gift?
On cost per use, no. At £479.00 it costs £3.07 a use at three uses a week, against 20.4p for the £31.89 Revlon One-Step.

Should I buy someone an IPL device for Christmas?
Only if they have asked for one and their hair and skin suit it. Year one costs £14.17 to £28.29 a session at monthly use.

What is a good beauty stocking filler?
The Fronnor ice roller at £8.99, which costs 5.8p a use at three uses a week.

Method

We read the Amazon UK listings for the best-selling beauty devices and gadgets in each type on 16 October 2026. Cost per use divides the buy-box price by year-one uses at the frequencies stated above, which match Look Into's existing beauty-device indexes. Electricity uses each listing's stated wattage for 15 minutes at 26.32p per kWh.

Next check: 20 November 2026.

The practical recommendation

For most gift buyers: a good pair of straighteners or a hot brush for £25 to £32 is the best value beauty gift on Amazon this year, at 16p to 20p a use. Save LED masks and IPL for people who have asked for them by name.

Internal links: Cost Index (page 2), Gift guide (page 1), UK At-Home Beauty Device Cost Index, LED mask guide, IPL guide.

Popular guides

lookinto.co.uk publishes dated UK household cost research: what things cost to buy, install and run across home energy, mobility, later-life care and home improvement. The only quote form on the site is for stairlifts and home lifts. Every index states its method, capture date and sources on the page it appears on.