Home Last updated: 30 September 2026
UK Edition
JW
Written and fact-checked by Jacob Whitmore · Published 30 Sep 2026 · How we work
Some links on this page are affiliate links. If you buy through them we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you. It never affects our recommendations. See how we make money.

Key takeaways

  • The NHS says to check three things before buying a SAD lamp: 10,000 lux, UV-free, and a UKCA or CE mark. We read 94 SAD lamp listings on Amazon UK on 30 September 2026. None mentions a UKCA or CE mark in its text, so none passes all three on the listing alone.
  • 75 claim 10,000 lux, but only 13 say at what distance it is measured. We call that missing line the distance clause, and without it a lux figure cannot be compared with anything.
  • Where a distance is given it runs from 10cm to 18 inches. A lamp rated at 10cm and one rated at 20cm are not the same product, even if both say 10,000 lux.
  • The NHS says light therapy is not usually available on the NHS because there is not enough evidence to tell whether it works, and to speak to a GP before trying it.

The clocks go back on 25 October 2026, and for a lot of people that is when the winter low starts. SAD lamps are one of the few things you can buy that are aimed squarely at it, and Amazon has a whole best sellers chart for them. Almost every listing leads with the same number: 10,000 lux.

That number comes from the NHS, which tells you what to look for. So we took the NHS’s own checklist, read 94 listings against it, and counted which ones actually tell you enough to check. Then we picked six.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. (paid link)

Prices and specs last checked 30 September 2026 · next check 11 November 2026 · how we picked

What the NHS says to look for

The NHS page on treating seasonal affective disorder describes light therapy as using a bright light, sometimes called a SAD lamp or light box, to simulate daylight in winter. It is careful about the evidence: light therapy is not usually available on the NHS “as there’s not enough evidence to tell whether it’s effective”, although it says many people find it helps.

If you do buy one, it gives three checks: that the lamp is bright enough, with 10,000 lux as the standard, that it is UV-free, and that it has a UKCA or CE mark. It also says to speak to a GP before trying light therapy, because it might not be suitable if you have certain eye conditions or take medicines that make you more sensitive to light, and to follow the manufacturer’s instructions.

The distance clause: 94 listings against the NHS checklist

On 30 September 2026 we searched Amazon UK for SAD lamp, SAD light therapy lamp, light therapy lamp 10000 lux and daylight lamp SAD, and read the first two pages of each. We removed bulbs, glasses, sunrise alarm clocks, infrared and red-light devices, and colour or size variants with identical copy. That left 94 distinct SAD lamp listings. For each we read the title, bullet points, product facts, description and technical details.

What the listing saysListingsOut of
Claims 10,000 lux7594
Says at what distance the 10,000 lux is measured1394
Says it is UV-free7194
Mentions a UKCA or CE mark094
Describes itself as a medical device894
Passes all three NHS checks on the listing text alone094
Look Into audit of 94 distinct SAD lamp listings on amazon.co.uk, read 30 September 2026, from four searches, two pages each. Distance claims were found by pattern search and then read by hand; 3 of 16 automated matches were product dimensions, not measuring distances, and were removed. A mark may still appear on the product, the box or the listing images, which we did not read.

The UKCA and CE result needs reading carefully. It does not mean these lamps are unmarked. A mark may be printed on the lamp or the box, or shown in the listing photos, which we did not read. It means that if you rely on the words on the page, which is what a search engine and an AI assistant read, not one listing lets you tick the third NHS box.

The bigger finding is distance. Lux is a measure of light arriving at a surface, and it falls away as you move back from the lamp. So 10,000 lux on its own is half a sentence: it needs “at 20cm” or “at 15cm” after it to mean anything. We call that missing half the distance clause. 75 listings claim 10,000 lux. 13 give the distance clause. The other 62 give you a number you cannot compare with any other lamp.

Where the distance is given, it ranges from 10cm to 18 inches, about 46cm. That spread is the whole story. A lamp that reaches 10,000 lux at 10cm has to be almost touching your face to do it. One that reaches it at 20cm gives you room to eat breakfast. The only lamp in our sample rated at 18 inches cost £388.44, which is why it is not on this list.

What it costs to run

Very little. Even a 50W lamp used for 30 minutes a day uses 0.025kWh, which is about 0.7p a day at the Ofgem cap rate of 26.32p a kWh from 1 October 2026, or about £1 over a five-month winter. The price of the lamp is the only number that matters.

How we picked these

We started from the 94 listings in the audit, dropped anything we could not price or add to a basket on 30 September 2026, and read each product’s rank in the Amazon UK SAD Lights best sellers chart. We favoured lamps that give the distance clause, say UV-free and describe themselves as a medical device, and included two popular lamps that do not give a distance so you can see what you are missing. Prices are the buy box on the day. We do not test, and nothing here is medical advice. If you have been feeling low for a while, a GP is the place to start. If mornings are the problem rather than daytime light, our guide to sunrise alarm clocks covers a different kind of lamp.

LampBest forPrice, 30 Sep 202610,000 lux atUV-freeMedical device
Lumie Vitamin LBest overall£62.9910,000 at 20cmYesYes, class 2a
Beurer TL30Best value medical device£30.3910,000 at 10cmYesYes
Beurer TL45Largest panel at 20cm£66.9910,000 at 20cmYesMedically certified
Lumie MiniMost portable£59.9910,000 at 12cmNot statedNot stated
Easysleep 10000 LuxCheapest bestseller£19.9110,000, no distanceYesNot stated
Caromolly 360°Lamp-style design£32.99Up to 10,000, no distanceYesNot stated
Prices read on amazon.co.uk on 30 September 2026. Everything else is as the listing states it on that day. None of the six listings mentions a UKCA or CE mark in its text.

The six we would buy

Best overall

Lumie Vitamin L slim light therapy box

£62.99 on 30 September 2026 · 4.6 stars from 2,132 ratings · number 1 in SAD Lights

Number one in Amazon’s SAD Lights chart, and one of the few listings that gives you everything the NHS asks for and the distance as well: 10,000 lux at 20cm, UV-free, and described as a class 2a medical device. The light panel is 20 x 28cm, so it fills a decent part of your field of view, it stands in portrait or landscape, and the listing suggests 30 minutes a session for the winter blues.

The catch: like every listing we read, it does not print a UKCA or CE mark in its text, so check the box or the maker’s site when it arrives. At £62.99 it is also twice the price of the Beurer below.

Check the price on Amazon →

Best value

Beurer TL30 SAD lamp

£30.39 on 30 September 2026 · 4.4 stars from 1,909 ratings · number 3 in SAD Lights

The cheapest lamp we found that states 10,000 lux with a distance, says it is UV-free and calls itself a medical device. It comes with an adjustable stand and a travel bag, and the whole thing is 23.6 x 15.6cm and 2.6cm thin, so it packs into a work bag.

The catch: the 10,000 lux is at 10cm. That is close: roughly a hand’s width from your face. Sit back to a comfortable breakfast-table distance and you are getting a good deal less, which is the distance clause at work.

Check the price on Amazon →

Best if you want to sit further back

Beurer TL45 Perfect Day daylight lamp

£66.99 on 30 September 2026 · 4.6 stars from 217 ratings · number 8 in SAD Lights

Beurer’s larger lamp doubles the distance of the TL30: 10,000 lux at 20cm from a 20 x 20cm surface, which the listing says is flicker-free as well as UV-free, and medically certified. If you want to read, eat or work in front of it rather than sit with your nose to it, the extra distance matters more than anything else on the spec sheet.

The catch: it is the dearest lamp on this page, and 20cm is still not far. None of the six gives a lux figure at the 40 to 60cm most people sit from a desk lamp.

Check the price on Amazon →

Most portable

Lumie Mini compact light therapy lamp

£59.99 on 30 September 2026 · 4.6 stars from 255 ratings · number 15 in SAD Lights

A small lamp from the brand at the top of the chart, sold on being easy to carry between home and a desk at work. It states 10,000 lux at 12cm, so you know exactly what you are getting and how close you need to be to get it.

The catch: the listing does not say it is UV-free, which is one of the three things the NHS tells you to check, and it does not describe itself as a medical device the way the Vitamin L does. Ask Lumie before you buy if that matters to you.

Check the price on Amazon →

Cheapest bestseller, missing one number

Easysleep 10,000 lux light therapy lamp

£19.91 on 30 September 2026 · 4.6 stars from 434 ratings · number 2 in SAD Lights

Number two in the chart and the cheapest lamp on this page by £10. It says 10,000 lux, full spectrum and UV-free, has ten brightness levels, a memory function and a countdown timer from 10 to 60 minutes. If you want to try light therapy without spending much, it is the obvious place to start.

The catch: it never says at what distance the 10,000 lux is measured. That is the distance clause missing, and it means you cannot compare it with the Lumie or the Beurers at all. It does not describe itself as a medical device either.

Check the price on Amazon →

Best if you want it to look like a lamp

Caromolly 360° SAD lamp

£32.99 on 30 September 2026 · 4.4 stars from 165 ratings · number 4 in SAD Lights

Most SAD lamps are flat panels. This one gives light all the way round, 360 degrees, with three colour temperatures, so it sits on a table more like an ordinary lamp than a piece of equipment. It says UV-free, and it is number four in the chart.

The catch: the lux claim is “up to 10,000”, which is a maximum rather than a figure you can plan around, and there is no distance. Light spread in every direction is also light not aimed at you.

Check the price on Amazon →

Questions people ask

Do SAD lamps work?

The NHS says light therapy is not usually available on the NHS because there is not enough evidence to tell whether it is effective, though many people find it helps. It suggests speaking to a GP before trying it, since it may not suit people with certain eye conditions or who take medicines that increase sensitivity to light.

How many lux should a SAD lamp be?

The NHS gives 10,000 lux as the standard. Check the listing also says at what distance that is measured. Of the 75 listings we read that claim 10,000 lux, only 13 say, and the distances run from 10cm to about 46cm.

What should I look for when buying a SAD lamp?

The NHS lists three things: bright enough, with 10,000 lux as standard, UV-free, and a UKCA or CE mark. We would add a fourth: the distance at which the 10,000 lux is measured, because a lamp rated at 10cm has to sit much closer to your face than one rated at 20cm.

How far away should I sit from a SAD lamp?

At the distance the maker states for its lux figure, if it states one, and following the manufacturer’s instructions, which is also what the NHS advises. Sitting further back than that means less light reaches you.

How long should I use a SAD lamp each day?

Follow the manufacturer’s instructions. The Lumie Vitamin L listing, for example, suggests 30 minutes for the symptoms of winter blues and SAD. Several lamps have built-in timers of 10 to 60 minutes.

How much does a SAD lamp cost to run?

Pennies. A 50W lamp used for 30 minutes a day costs about 0.7p a day at the October 2026 cap rate of 26.32p a kWh, about £1 over a five-month winter.

Sources

  • NHS, Seasonal affective disorder (SAD): treatment. nhs.uk, read 30 September 2026.
  • Ofgem, Changes to energy price cap between 1 October and 31 December 2026. ofgem.gov.uk, read 30 September 2026.
  • Amazon UK product pages for all 94 SAD lamp listings in the audit, read 30 September 2026.

Prices were read on amazon.co.uk on 30 September 2026 and change often, so treat them as a guide and check before you buy. The comparison table near the top pulls live prices from Amazon’s product feed, which can sit slightly off the price in the buy box. This page is general information, not medical advice. Look Into is a Whito Ltd publication. We earn a commission on some links to Amazon at no cost to you, and commission never changes what we recommend or the order we list it in.

Popular guides

lookinto.co.uk publishes independent UK cost research and free quote comparisons across home energy, mobility, home improvement and later-life care. The cost indices are built from published data, and every figure is sourced on the page it appears on.