The short version
- Of the 50 bestselling air fryers on Amazon UK on 10 September 2026, 19 print an energy saving against an oven, from 43% to 80%. None of the 50 publishes the kWh behind it.
- Ninja’s eight listings measure their saving on sausages and get anything from 45% to 75%. Tefal’s three use frozen fries. The other eight name no food at all.
- The Energy Saving Trust’s lab figure for a 600g chicken breast is 14p in an air fryer against 20p in an electric oven, which is 30% less.
- At the October 2026 cap of 26.32p per kWh, a 20-minute cook at full power costs 12.3p on a 1,400W fryer and 24.1p on a 2,750W one.
Almost every air fryer listing promises to cut your bills, and the percentages printed on them run from 43% to 80%. We read the 50 bestselling listings in Amazon UK’s air fryer chart on 10 September 2026 to find out what those numbers are measured on, then priced each pick below per cook at the October 2026 price cap. The eight picks run from £47.50 to £269.99.
The short answer
For one or two people, buy the Tower Vortx 4.2L: £47.50, and 12.3p for a 20-minute cook at full power. For a family, the Tefal Easy Fry Dual Zone 8.3L at £99.99 has a 5.2-litre and a 3.1-litre drawer. No listing we read says how many kWh a cook uses.
Prices and specs last checked 10 September 2026 · next check 1 October 2026 · how we picked
How they compare
All eight picks side by side, cheapest first. Rated power, drawer sizes and energy claims are each seller’s own. The cost column is our arithmetic at the October 2026 cap.
| Model | Drawers | Rated power | 20 minutes at full power | Energy claim on the listing | What it was tested on | Listed size, D × W × H (cm) | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tower Vortx 4.2L (T17147) | 4.2 L | 1,400 W | 12.3p | 30% faster than an oven, no energy figure | Not stated | 28.5 × 34.6 × 28.4 | £47.50 |
| Ninja Air Fryer Pro 4.7L (AF140UK) | 4.7 L | 2,000 W | 17.5p | Less energy than an oven, no figure | Sausages | 36 × 28.5 × 26.5 | £79.00 |
| Tefal Easy Fry Mega 7.5L | 7.5 L | 2,020 W | 17.7p | Up to 65% less energy | Frozen fries, 2024 | 31 × 39.6 × 31.5 | £79.99 |
| Tefal Easy Fry Dual Zone 8.3L | 5.2 L + 3.1 L | 2,700 W | 23.7p | Up to 70% energy saving | Frozen fries, 2022 | 40.2 × 41.8 × 30.5 | £99.99 |
| Philips 3000 Series Dual Basket 9L | 6 L + 3 L | 2,750 W | 24.1p | Up to 80% energy saving | Not stated | 38.3 × 44.4 × 31.4 | £109.99 |
| Ninja Foodi Dual Zone 7.6L (AF300UK) | 3.8 L + 3.8 L | 2,400 W | 21.1p | Up to 75% saving | Sausages | 26.5 × 38 × 31.5 | £148.99 |
| Breville Halo Flexi 11L (VDF138) | 5.5 L + 5.5 L, or one 11 L | 2,400 W | 21.1p | £65 a year cheaper than an oven | 300g frozen oven chips, twice a day, October 2023 prices | 38.7 × 36 × 36.7 (order not labelled) | £183.99 |
| Ninja Double Stack XL 9.5L (SL400UK) | 4.75 L + 4.75 L | 2,470 W | 21.7p | Up to 55% less energy | Sausages | 47 × 28 × 38.5 | £269.99 |
What the energy-saving percentages are measured on
We read the 50 bestselling listings in Amazon UK’s Air Fryers chart on 10 September 2026, taking the title, the bullet points, the product details and the brand content lower down each page. 19 of the 50 print a percentage saving against an oven. The lowest is 43% and the highest is 80%.
| Brand | Listings printing a % | Saving claimed | What the listing says it was tested on | kWh published |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ninja | 8 | 45% to 75% | Sausages at the recommended cook time, against conventional ovens (one listing names 68-litre and 71-litre A-rated ovens) | No |
| Tefal | 3 | 65% to 70% | Frozen fries, tests in 2022 or 2024 | No |
| Philips | 2 | 70% and 80% | Not stated | No |
| Tower | 2 | 70% | Not stated | No |
| Russell Hobbs | 2 | 43% and 46% | Not stated | No |
| Keplin | 1 | 55% | Not stated | No |
| Belaco | 1 | 60% | Not stated | No |
| Energy Saving Trust (independent lab) | n/a | 30% | A 600g chicken breast | No |
How this guide was made: desk research, not a hands-on test. We have not cooked in any of these fryers. Every wattage, size and energy claim below is the seller’s own, read on its Amazon UK listing on 10 September 2026, including the brand content further down each listing. Cost per cook is our arithmetic: rated watts for 20 minutes at 26.32p per kWh, the Ofgem cap rate from 1 October 2026. That is the most a cook could cost, because a fryer’s element cycles off once it is up to temperature. Prices were read the same day and move often.
Eleven of the 19 say what the test was run on, and the brands picked different dinners. Ninja’s eight listings all use sausages cooked for the recommended time, and the saving comes out anywhere from 45% to 75% depending on the model. Tefal’s three use frozen fries. The other eight name no food and describe no test.
None of the 50 listings publishes a kilowatt-hour figure for the fryer or for the oven it beat, and that is the only number that turns a percentage into pence. Call it the unmetered saving: a cut in energy use you are told the size of, measured on a meal the brand chose, with the meter reading left out.
Three listings print money instead. Two Tower listings say switching could save £241 a year and £198 a year, with no energy price and no number of meals behind either figure. Breville’s Halo Flexi listing is the one that shows its working: £65 a year, at October 2023 energy prices, cooking 300g of frozen oven chips twice a day against a 70-litre A-rated fan oven, internally tested.
The one independent figure we could find comes from the Energy Saving Trust, which says its costs come from lab tests on specific foods. It puts a 600g chicken breast at 14p in an air fryer and 20p in an electric oven in Great Britain, 30% less. That is below every percentage in the chart. It is a different food again, and the Trust does not publish the electricity rate it used.
An air fryer can still save money on a small meal. The percentage on the listing only tells you how the brand’s chosen dinner went.
The eight air fryers worth buying
Listed from cheapest to dearest on the prices we read on 10 September 2026. Each verdict ends with the source it rests on and the thing that source could not settle.
Tower Vortx 4.2L
Best budgetThe cheapest to buy and the cheapest to run of the eight. It has a single 4.2-litre basket and a 1,400-watt rating, so a 20-minute cook at full power costs 12.3p at the October 2026 cap, the lowest here. It suits one or two people. The listing prints no energy-saving percentage at all, only that it cooks up to 30% faster than a conventional oven, and it does not say on what food.
The catch: The standard guarantee is one year. Tower adds two more years only if you register the fryer online, so do that the day it arrives.
4.2 L single basket · 1,400 W · 34.6 cm wide · 1-year guarantee, plus 2 years on registration · £47.50 on 10 September 2026
Behind this verdict: Tower’s Amazon UK listing, read 10 September 2026, for the wattage, size, speed claim and guarantee terms. The 12.3p is our arithmetic. The 30% faster figure names no food and no oven, so we cannot say what it was compared with.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. (paid link)
Ninja Air Fryer Pro 4.7L (AF140UK)
The bestsellerNumber one in Amazon UK’s air fryer chart on the day we read it. Ninja says the 4.7-litre drawer takes a whole 1kg chicken or 500g of fries and suits up to two people. It is rated at 2,000 watts, so a 20-minute cook at full power costs 17.5p, which is 5.2p more than the Tower. Ninja’s listing says it uses less energy than an oven on its sausage test, but unlike eight other Ninja listings in the same chart it gives no percentage.
The catch: It costs £31.50 more than the Tower for half a litre more space, and Ninja’s two-year guarantee needs you to register.
4.7 L single drawer · 2,000 W · 28.5 cm wide · 2-year guarantee on registration · £79.00 on 10 September 2026
Behind this verdict: Ninja’s Amazon UK listing, read 10 September 2026. The chart position is Amazon’s own ranking on that day and changes through the day. What fits in the drawer is Ninja’s statement, not something we have seen.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. (paid link)
Tefal Easy Fry Mega 7.5L
Biggest single basketThe one for cooking one large thing. Its 7.5-litre basket is bigger than any single drawer on the two-drawer models in this guide, where the largest is 6 litres. Tefal’s listing claims up to 65% less energy than an oven and says the tests were run on frozen fries in 2024, which makes it one of the 11 listings in the chart that name a food at all. It also claims 15 years of repairability. At 2,020 watts, a 20-minute cook at full power costs 17.7p.
The catch: One zone only, so chips and fish come out in turns. At 39.6 cm it is also wider than the Ninja two-drawer AF300UK.
7.5 L single basket · 2,020 W · 39.6 cm wide · £79.99 on 10 September 2026
Behind this verdict: Tefal’s Amazon UK listing, read 10 September 2026. The listing gives the food and the year of the test but no quantity or kWh, so the 65% cannot be turned into pence.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. (paid link)
Tefal Easy Fry Dual Zone 8.3L
Best value two-drawerThe cheapest of the four two-zone picks, and the drawers are different sizes: 5.2 litres and 3.1 litres. That suits a main in the big drawer and a side in the small one, and Tefal says the small drawer can be run on its own. Its listing is more specific than most about its tests: 1,000g of frozen French fries against a Tefal convection oven for its 40% speed claim, and frozen fries, tested in 2022 against a conventional oven, for its claim of up to 70% energy saving.
The catch: It needs a big patch of worktop at 41.8 cm wide and 40.2 cm deep, and at 2,700 watts a 20-minute cook with both drawers at full power costs 23.7p.
5.2 L + 3.1 L drawers · 2,700 W · 41.8 cm wide · £99.99 on 10 September 2026
Behind this verdict: Tefal’s Amazon UK listing, read 10 September 2026. Neither test publishes the kWh used by the fryer or the oven, so the 70% cannot be priced.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. (paid link)
Philips 3000 Series Dual Basket 9L
Clearest drawer sizesThe two-drawer listing that puts both drawer sizes in its title, 6 litres and 3 litres, which only 2 of the 18 two-drawer listings in the chart do. The 6-litre drawer is the largest single drawer on any two-drawer model in this guide, and Philips says the two baskets can be timed to finish together.
The catch: Its comparison chart claims up to 80% energy saving against an oven, the highest figure in the whole bestseller list, and states no test behind it. It is the widest here at 44.4 cm and rated at 2,750 watts, 24.1p for 20 minutes at full power.
6 L + 3 L baskets · 2,750 W · 44.4 cm wide · £109.99 on 10 September 2026
Behind this verdict: Philips’ Amazon UK listing, including the comparison chart in its brand content, read 10 September 2026. The 80% has no test condition anywhere on the listing. We did not check whether Philips publishes one elsewhere.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. (paid link)
Ninja Foodi Dual Zone 7.6L (AF300UK)
Narrowest side-by-sideTwo equal 3.8-litre drawers in a body 38 cm wide, the narrowest of the side-by-side two-drawer models here. Its listing claims the biggest saving of any Ninja in the chart: up to 75%, on the same sausage test Ninja uses everywhere. The wording is “save up to 75% on your energy bill”, and the footnote shows the comparison is with cooking sausages in an oven.
The catch: Each drawer is smaller than the Tower’s single 4.2-litre basket, and at £148.99 it costs £49 more than the Tefal two-drawer.
3.8 L + 3.8 L drawers · 2,400 W · 38 cm wide · 2-year guarantee on registration · £148.99 on 10 September 2026
Behind this verdict: Ninja’s Amazon UK listing, read 10 September 2026. Ninja’s sausage test gives 45% on one model and 75% on this one, and no Ninja listing publishes the kWh behind either.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. (paid link)
Breville Halo Flexi 11L
One big cavityA countertop oven with a removable divider: two 5.5-litre zones, or one 11-litre space with the divider out, which none of the drawer models here can match. It is also the only listing in the chart that shows the working behind a money figure: £65 a year cheaper than an oven, at October 2023 energy prices, cooking 300g of frozen oven chips twice a day against a 70-litre A-rated fan oven, internally tested.
The catch: The £65 assumes two cooks a day, every day, at energy prices from almost three years ago. It is 8.6 kg and the listing does not say which of its three dimensions is the width.
5.5 L + 5.5 L, or 11 L · 2,400 W · 38.7 × 36 × 36.7 cm · £183.99 on 10 September 2026
Behind this verdict: Breville’s Amazon UK listing, read 10 September 2026. Breville gives the usage and the price date but not the kWh it measured, so the £65 cannot be re-priced at the October 2026 cap.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. (paid link)
Ninja Double Stack XL 9.5L (SL400UK)
Narrow worktopsTwo 4.75-litre drawers stacked one above the other in a body 28 cm wide, the narrowest of the eight, with racks that Ninja says give four cooking levels. It is for the kitchen where a side-by-side model will not fit between the hob and the wall. Ninja claims up to 55% less energy than an oven on its sausage test.
The catch: The most expensive here at £269.99. It stands 38.5 cm tall, so measure under your wall cupboards, and it weighs 10.3 kg.
4.75 L + 4.75 L drawers · 2,470 W · 28 cm wide, 38.5 cm tall · 2-year guarantee on registration · £269.99 on 10 September 2026
Behind this verdict: Ninja’s Amazon UK listing, read 10 September 2026. How much food fits on each of the four levels is not stated.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. (paid link)
How to choose one
Two drawers, one number
Of the 18 two-drawer listings in the chart, 16 put only the combined capacity in the title. The Philips 3000 (6 L + 3 L) and a Nyxi 9L (4.5 L each) are the two that give the split. That matters for big items: the largest single drawer on any two-drawer model in this guide is 6 litres, and the Tefal Easy Fry Mega’s one basket is 7.5. To cook one large thing, compare the biggest drawer with the basket.
After size, look at width, because two-drawer models are wide: 38 cm to 44.4 cm for the side-by-side picks here, against 28 cm for the stacked Ninja. Then look at rated power. It sets the ceiling on what a cook can cost, from 12.3p for 20 minutes on the Tower to 24.1p on the Philips at the October 2026 cap.
Two-drawer count: listings with two drawers or baskets named in the title. The Breville Halo Flexi and two Ninja FlexDrawer listings use one cavity with a removable divider and are left out of the 18.
Common questions
Do air fryers really cost less to run than an oven?
For a small meal, on the one independent figure available, yes. The Energy Saving Trust puts a 600g chicken breast at 14p in an air fryer and 20p in an electric oven in Great Britain, 30% less, from lab tests on that food. Brands print bigger savings, from 43% to 80% across the 50 bestselling air fryer listings on Amazon UK, but each is measured on a food the brand chose and none publishes the kWh behind it.
How much does an air fryer cost to run?
At most 12.3p for a 20-minute cook on a 1,400W air fryer and 24.1p on a 2,750W one, at the October 2026 cap rate of 26.32p per kWh. That assumes full rated power for the whole 20 minutes. The element cycles off once the fryer is up to temperature, so a real cook uses less, but no listing we read publishes a measured figure.
Are the energy-saving percentages on air fryers accurate?
They cannot be checked from the listing. Of the 50 bestselling air fryers on Amazon UK on 10 September 2026, 19 print a saving against an oven. Ninja’s eight listings test on sausages, Tefal’s three on frozen fries, and the other eight name no food at all. None of the 50 gives the kWh measured, so no percentage can be turned into pence.
What size air fryer do I need?
For one or two people, a single basket of around 4 to 5 litres: Ninja says its 4.7-litre drawer suits up to two. For a family, compare the size of each drawer rather than the total. Only 2 of the 18 two-drawer listings we read put the split in the title, and the largest single drawer on any two-drawer model in this guide is 6 litres.
Single basket or two drawers?
Two drawers if you regularly cook a main and a side that need different times, because the two-drawer models in this guide can be set to finish together. A single basket if you cook one large thing: the Tefal Easy Fry Mega’s 7.5-litre basket is bigger than any one drawer on the two-drawer models here, and it costs less.
Air fryers are one of the products we are price-tracking into the November sales. The August baseline is on our Black Friday 2026 page, and what other household appliances cost to run at the same cap rate is in the UK running cost index.
Sources
- Ofgem, Energy price cap unit rates and standing charges (average direct debit electricity 26.32p per kWh from 1 October to 31 December 2026; 26.11p from 1 July to 30 September 2026)
- Energy Saving Trust, Air fryer vs oven: which is cheaper to run? (last updated 21 August 2025)
- Amazon.co.uk Best Sellers: Air Fryers, all 50 listings read in full on 10 September 2026
Prices checked on Amazon UK on 10 September 2026 and change often. Look Into earns a commission on qualifying purchases made through the links above, at no extra cost to you.
