Home Last updated: 15 October 2026
UK Edition
JW
Written and fact-checked by Jacob Whitmore · Published 15 Oct 2026 · How we work
Some links on this page are affiliate links. If you buy through them we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you. It never affects our recommendations. See how we make money.

The short version

  • Buying outright cost less over three years in every category we priced, even with the highest running costs we could justify.
  • The cheapest lease shown is the road-legal Pride Colt Deluxe 2.0 at £21.87 a week, about £3,412 over three years (Motability price list, October to December 2026).
  • At the cheapest rate, a lease passes the high-end cost of buying within about 1.1 to 2.1 years.
  • The lease pays for insurance, servicing, repairs, breakdown cover, tyres and faulty batteries, so there are no bills in between.
  • The two sides are different scooters: the lease models are established brands with dealer support, and the ones we priced to buy are mostly marketplace brands.

If you get the enhanced mobility rate of PIP, £80.00 a week in 2026/27, you can hand some or all of it to Motability in return for a leased scooter. Motability does not say when buying outright would cost less. Dealers that sell both tend not to either. So we put the October 2026 lease prices next to the three-year cost of buying and running a scooter yourself.

Prices and specs last checked by Look Into on 15 October 2026 · next check 8 January 2027 · how we picked

How we compared them

Lease prices are from the Motability Scheme's October to December 2026 price page, read on 15 October 2026. The page shows each price as "From £X" and links it to the weekly allowance, so we treat it as weekly. We multiplied by 156 weeks for a three-year lease. The buy-outright side uses the method from our five-year cost study, cut to three years: Amazon UK prices on 15 October 2026, insurance at £38 or £65 a year, a dealer service at £203.94 or none, up to two battery replacements, and electricity at the October 2026 cap.

Three years: lease vs buy

CategoryMotability, 3 years (from)Motability, 3 years (dearest shown)Buy and run, 3 years, lowBuy and run, 3 years, high
Folding£3,815.76 (Monarch Supa Carbon Lite, £24.46 a week)£4,893.72 (Motion Healthcare Parvus)£774 (iCAN X-15)£2,317 (iCAN X-15, two lithium packs)
Transportable£3,742.44 (Monarch Genie Auto, £23.99 a week)£5,279.04 (Luggie Super 3W)£626 (VOCIC)£1,429 (VOCIC)
Pavement£3,670.68 (Motion Healthcare Airium ST, £23.53 a week)£4,597.32 (Vista Liteway)£626 (VOCIC)£1,429 (VOCIC)
Road-legal£3,411.72 (Pride Colt Deluxe 2.0, £21.87 a week)£5,503.68 (Excel Galaxy Compact II EVO)£1,414 (Veleco ZT63)£2,415 (Veleco ZT63)
Motability prices are the "from" figures on its October to December 2026 page, times 156 weeks. Buy-and-run uses prices read on 15 October 2026. The models on each side are different scooters in the same category.

The break-even point

Divide the high-end cost of buying by the cheapest weekly lease in the same category, and you get the number of weeks after which the lease has cost more:

For road-legal scooters, £2,415 ÷ £21.87 is about 110 weeks, just over two years. For folding scooters, £2,317 ÷ £24.46 is about 95 weeks. For pavement scooters, £1,429 ÷ £23.53 is about 61 weeks, a little over a year.

Use the low-end buying cost instead and the lease overtakes it within 26 to 65 weeks. On money alone, buying wins in every row. That is not the whole decision.

What the lease gives you that the sum does not

  • Insurance through Direct Line Motability with £2m legal liability, theft cover and up to 30 days a year in Europe.
  • Servicing, routine repairs and breakdown cover, with no bill when something fails.
  • Tyres replaced for normal wear, subject to fair use, and faulty batteries replaced.
  • DVLA registration done for you on road-legal scooters.
  • Established brands, a dealer who brings the scooter to your home to try, and a replacement when yours wears out.

The scooters we priced to buy are mostly marketplace brands with no dealer behind them in your town. If a repair bill or a dead scooter would leave you stuck at home, the lease is buying you certainty, and that can be worth the gap. If you are handy, have a dealer nearby, and want to keep part of your allowance, buying is the cheaper road.

Scooters we priced to buy

Prices in this table come live from Amazon and can change through the day. Prices quoted in the text were checked by Look Into on 15 October 2026, so the two can differ.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. (paid link)

Cheapest portable

iCAN X-02

£399.99, 4mph, a removable 12Ah battery and a claimed 12.5 miles. About the cost of 18 weeks of the cheapest scooter lease.

The catch: no weight is given for a scooter sold as portable, and nobody is on hand to fix it.

Check price on Amazon →

Pavement scooter

Livewell Pavement 4mph

£565.00 for a 4mph pavement scooter claiming 11 miles, with an off-board charging socket.

The catch: the listing does not state its battery size or user limit.

Check price on Amazon →

Light folding

iCAN X-15

£649.99 for an 18kg frame and a battery the listing puts at about 1kg. Our folding example in the table above.

The catch: a lithium replacement pack could cost £255 to £425 when it wears out.

Check price on Amazon →

Road-legal, lowest cost to run

Veleco ZT63

£1,260.99 for an 8mph road scooter claiming 37 miles. Our road-legal example in the table.

The catch: you must register it with the DVLA yourself if the seller does not. Motability does this for you on road-legal scooters.

Check price on Amazon →

Road-legal, established brand

Drive Envoy 8+

£2,300.00 from Drive, a long-standing UK mobility brand, claiming 30 miles at 8mph. Even at this price, buying plus three years of high-end running costs stays under the dearer road-legal leases.

The catch: the listing does not state the battery size, and stock showed "Only 1 left" on 15 October 2026.

Check price on Amazon →

Questions people ask

How much is a Motability scooter a week?

On the October to December 2026 price page, the 12 scooters shown start at £21.87 (Pride Colt Deluxe 2.0, road-legal) and go up to £35.28 (Excel Galaxy Compact II EVO). The price comes out of your mobility allowance, and some products also need an advance payment.

Who is entitled to a mobility scooter through Motability?

People getting the enhanced rate mobility component of PIP, the higher rate mobility component of DLA, War Pensioners' Mobility Supplement, Armed Forces Independence Payment, or the qualifying mobility rate of Adult or Child Disability Payment in Scotland. Most applicants need at least 12 months left on their award.

What does the Motability lease include?

Motability says the package includes insurance through Direct Line Motability with £2m legal liability, servicing and routine repairs, breakdown cover, tyres replaced for normal wear subject to fair use, faulty batteries replaced, and DVLA registration for road-legal scooters.

Is it cheaper to buy a mobility scooter outright?

On cost alone, usually yes. Even with three battery sets, top-end insurance and a dealer service every year, buying the scooters we priced costs less over three years than the cheapest lease in the same category. The lease buys brand, dealer support and no surprise bills.

How long is a Motability scooter lease?

Mobility World says most scooter and powered wheelchair agreements run as a three-year lease. The Motability price page does not state the length, so confirm it with the dealer.

Sources

Popular guides

lookinto.co.uk publishes dated UK household cost research: what things cost to buy, install and run across home energy, mobility, later-life care and home improvement. The only quote form on the site is for stairlifts and home lifts. Every index states its method, capture date and sources on the page it appears on.