Home Last updated: 15 October 2026
UK Edition
JW
Written and fact-checked by Jacob Whitmore · Published 15 Oct 2026 · How we work
Some links on this page are affiliate links. If you buy through them we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you. It never affects our recommendations. See how we make money.

The short version

  • GOV.UK says insurance is not required for Class 2 or Class 3 scooters, but it recommends it.
  • A vehicle that is not in a class, because it can go faster than 8mph, needs insurance if it weighs over 254kg.
  • Published starting prices read on 15 October 2026 ran from £38 a year at Surewise to £65 a year at CSIS.
  • Surewise excludes batteries and expects the scooter to be locked when stored.
  • A Motability lease already includes insurance with £2m liability.

Mobility scooter insurance is cheap, optional for most riders, and sold almost entirely by the companies offering it. So this page sets out what the law says, what three insurers publish as their starting prices, and the conditions that decide whether a claim is paid.

Prices and specs last checked by Look Into on 15 October 2026 · next check 15 January 2027 · how we picked

What the law says in 2026

GOV.UK's mobility scooter rules, read on 15 October 2026, say this about insurance: "You do not need insurance for a class 2 or class 3 mobility scooter or powered wheelchair, although it's recommended."

The same rules also describe vehicles that are "not in a class": anything that can go faster than 8mph. These are road only, must be registered with the DVLA, and the driver needs a valid driving licence. GOV.UK says such a vehicle needs insurance if its total weight, not counting attached equipment, is over 254kg. In our check of Amazon UK scooter listings on 15 October 2026, one stated 15mph in its specification table. Check the top speed before you buy. More in our Class 2 and Class 3 guide.

What three insurers publish

InsurerStarting priceLiability coverNotable inclusionsNotable exclusions or conditions
SurewiseFrom £38 a year (£3.80 a month); comparison prices dated August 2025£2m public liabilityAccidental damage, vandalism, theft, fire, storm and flood; no excessBatteries excluded; breakdown is an optional add-on; scooter must be locked when stored; items left unlocked outside over an hour excluded
Blue Badge Mobility Insurance"From only £38", period not statedUp to £2m public liabilityOptional recovery and puncture coverExcess and breakdown terms not stated on the page we read
CSIS (via the ETA partner page)£65 a year for a scooter worth up to £3,500£2m third-party liabilityTheft, loss and damage up to £10,000; breakdown recovery up to 25 miles; puncture repairs up to £100; replacement hire up to £250; personal accident up to £20,000Excess not stated on the page we read
Motability lease (included)Part of the weekly lease£2m legal liabilityTheft, damage that stops safe use, replacement keys, up to 30 days a year in Europe, legal expenses up to £25,000Personal belongings, cosmetic damage, use outside Europe or over 30 days a year
Read on each provider's own page on 15 October 2026. Your own price will depend on the scooter, where you live and how you store it.

How we checked

Desk research. We read each insurer's public pages on 15 October 2026 and took only what they publish. We did not request quotes or enter personal details into any quote form, so we cannot say what any one rider would pay. We have not read the full policy wordings, and we have not checked home contents policies, some of which may cover a scooter.

Is it worth it?

For £38 to £65 a year, the part most worth having is the £2m liability cover. If your scooter injures someone or damages a car, the bill could run far beyond the scooter's value. Theft and damage cover matters more the dearer the scooter: on a £400 portable scooter, one year's premium is about a tenth of its price.

Over five years insurance adds £190 to £325 to the cost of owning a scooter. See the full five-year breakdown.

The theft conditions, and the kit that meets them

Theft cover usually depends on how the scooter was stored. Surewise asks for it to be locked up when stored and excludes items left unlocked outside for over an hour. A lock and a cover cost less than one year's premium.

Prices in this table come live from Amazon and can change through the day. Prices quoted in the text were checked by Look Into on 15 October 2026, so the two can differ.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. (paid link)

Cheapest lock

Mobility scooter chain lock, 80cm

£11.79 for an 80cm chain lock with keys, long enough to loop through a scooter frame and around a railing.

The catch: a chain this light deters casual theft. It will not stop someone with bolt cutters, and we have not seen a security rating on the listing.

Check price on Amazon →

Alternative lock

80cm anti-theft scooter lock

£12.63 for a similar 80cm lock sold for mobility scooters.

The catch: as with the chain above, no independent security rating is stated on the listing.

Check price on Amazon →

Add an alarm

Wireless anti-theft alarm

£13.95 for a small motion alarm that sounds if the scooter is moved.

The catch: an alarm draws attention; it does not stop the scooter being carried off. Use it alongside a lock.

Check price on Amazon →

Cheapest cover

Heavy duty mobility scooter cover

£12.98 for a waterproof cover that keeps rain off the seat and controls when the scooter lives outside.

The catch: check the dimensions against your scooter before ordering.

Check price on Amazon →

Mid-price cover

SRIMMIT 420D Oxford waterproof cover

£24.89 for a heavier 420D fabric cover in a size for most pavement scooters.

The catch: a cover keeps weather off but does not count as securing the scooter for an insurer.

Check price on Amazon →

For bigger scooters

Staveley XXL mobility scooter cover

£39.95 for an XXL cover sized for large road scooters.

The catch: the dearest cover here; only worth it if a smaller one will not fit.

Check price on Amazon →

If you fly with your scooter

Jet2 says its liability for mobility equipment is limited to about £1,100 under the Montreal Convention, and that a device worth more should have suitable insurance. Check whether your policy covers air travel and time abroad. Our airline battery check covers the rest of the paperwork.

Questions people ask

Do I legally need insurance for a mobility scooter?

No, for Class 2 and Class 3 scooters. GOV.UK says: "You do not need insurance for a class 2 or class 3 mobility scooter or powered wheelchair, although it's recommended." A vehicle that is not in a class, because it can go faster than 8mph, needs insurance if its total weight is over 254kg.

How much is mobility scooter insurance?

Published starting prices on 15 October 2026 were £38 a year at Surewise (its comparison prices are dated August 2025), "from £38" at Blue Badge Mobility Insurance with no period stated, and £65 a year at CSIS for a scooter worth up to £3,500. These are starting prices, and your own quote may be higher.

Does mobility scooter insurance cover the battery?

Not always. Surewise says batteries are excluded from its policy and its extended warranty. Check the battery wording before you buy, because a replacement pack can cost £55 to £425.

Will insurance pay out if my scooter is stolen from outside a shop?

Read the theft conditions. Surewise requires the scooter to be locked up when stored, and excludes items left unlocked outside for more than an hour. A lock is cheap compared with an excess or a refused claim.

Am I covered if an airline damages my scooter?

Jet2 says its liability for mobility equipment is limited to about £1,100 under the Montreal Convention, and that a device worth more should have suitable insurance. Check whether your policy covers travel abroad and for how long.

Sources

Popular guides

lookinto.co.uk publishes dated UK household cost research: what things cost to buy, install and run across home energy, mobility, later-life care and home improvement. The only quote form on the site is for stairlifts and home lifts. Every index states its method, capture date and sources on the page it appears on.